Review: SOSU by Suzanne Jackson*

Nail polish is one of my absolute favourite products from the beauty drawer and, along with lipstick & mascara, it’s one of my favourite pieces from the whole beauty industry. I love doing my nails at the office, because it’s truly the perfect time and place to do it; I don’t need to grab or pick things up as I’m just tying & clicking away all day. You may remember back in May I attended the launch party for the SOSU by Suzanne Jackson collection, held in No. 10 Ormond Quay. It was a fun event that introduced Sue new beauty collection to the nation and worldwide fans, and has since been a best-seller around the country. The collection is a range of 25 gel colour nail polishes for that shiny salon gel finish without the UV lamp. They are designed & formulated by Sue, that include high pigmented matte and shimmer gel polishes, as well as a top & base coat for long-lasting manicures. So without further do, here’s are today’s beauty reviews!

Product & Verdict: Coral Reef – 3.5/5

This was the first polish I tried from the SOSU collection was Coral Reef, which I received at the aforementioned launch party. This pink polish does have lovely pigmentation to it, though it was a bit thin so I recommend two or three coats to get that strong finish. I loved the coral-pink tone it has, it really delivers on its name. Although the collection boasts a gel finish sans UV lamp, this polish didn’t have a glossy finish without a top coat, so I really do recommend to use a good one. SOSU does offer one, so if you’re picking yourself up a polish, nab a top coat too. SOSU by Suzanne Jackson is available at Penneys, leading pharmacies nationwide & selected nail salons at €7.99 each (click for stockist list)

Product & Verdict: Blue My Mind – 4/5

The next polish I tried out from the collection was Blue My Mind. I was really impressed by the hue of this polish, it’s a midnight blue in some lights and a royal blue in others, with a hint of shimmer. It also looked great against my complexion, which is always a bonus. This polish only needed two coats to get the desired look, and it did have a more gel-like finish than the above-mentioned Coral Reef. This polish also lasted a good few days without chipping. SOSU by Suzanne Jackson is available at Penneys, leading pharmacies nationwide & selected nail salons at €7.99 each (click for stockist list)

Product & Verdict: This Is Paradise – 5/5

Now the third polish I tested out, This Is Paradise, I was really blown away! The pigmentation, the shine and the longevity were totally on point for this one. After two coats, this is the most heavenly of sky blues I’ve seen. The polish also lasted over a week with barely any chips (on my good hand, the bad hand was my own fault), which is extremely impressive. I didn’t want to take off the polish I was so in love! SOSU by Suzanne Jackson is available at Penneys, leading pharmacies nationwide & selected nail salons at €7.99 each (click for stockist list)

Product & Verdict: Bright Lights & First Date – 5/5

As a double whammy, I tried out Bright Lights & First Date together and what a combination it was. The former gold-bronze polish has a glittering shimmer throughout that gets more beautiful the more coats you apply. The latter red polish is such a fabulous colour. It has serious pigmentation and shine, and for that reason I definitely recommend applying a nude base coat beforehand to avoid staining your nail. For this manicure I applied two coats of each, though for the latter polish one coat would have been enough. Like This Is Paradise, these polishes last about a week before I started picking at them, (I’m awful for picking & peeling off nail polish…so bad!), and I reckon the manicure would have lasted longer if I’d had let it! SOSU by Suzanne Jackson is available at Penneys, leading pharmacies nationwide & selected nail salons at €7.99 each (click for stockist list)

Product & Verdict: Angel Kisses – 4.5/5

As my final tester, Angel Kisses is my glittery little number for yesterday’s new manicure. Now, I love how glitter manis look, but boy oh boy do I dislike removing them. As I mentioned above, I’m a boldie for peeling off my nail polish when it begins to weaken, but sometimes it’s the only way I remove glitter polishes. That said, I was dying to try out this pink glittery number from SOSU. Angel Kisses is an extremely girly polish; in the bottle it’s all pink & sparkly, and on my nails, it’s exactly that! This polish does have a clear base throughout it, so first I applied two coats of a nude base, the three coats of Angel Kisses and then two top coats to finish. That sure is a lot of polish on one little fingernail! But the finish is pretty lovely; it truly sparkles depending on what way the light hits the glitter flecks and matches perfectly with my Barbie pink polish. SOSU by Suzanne Jackson is available at Penneys, leading pharmacies nationwide & selected nail salons at €7.99 each (click for stockist list)

For nail polishes, I always recommend a good base coat & top coat to really get the desired finish. Have you tried & tested these or other SOSU by Suzanne Jackson polishes?

Nirina xx

*Note: I did receive this product from sponsors, however this review & opinion are 100% my own.

2 thoughts on “Review: SOSU by Suzanne Jackson*

Leave a Reply

